my savour

tastes and smells to savour

Sotto Sotto

I’ve been wanting to try Sotto Sotto ever since I moved to Atlanta in 2007.

While my parents were visiting back in October, I thought it would be a good opportunity to finally try it and cross it off the list. They are tough critics of Italian food, just like me.

I have to warn my readers that the photos below are pretty amateur and blurry. I just hate taking pictures at restaurants, especially where the staff is more on the pretentious side.

For starters, we ordered a couple of ceasar salads to share. Simple and tasty, I only wish that there was just a little more too it in terms of size.

Caesar Salad

Caesar Salad

We also had an order of the Carpaccio di Manzo (no picture) – Brasstown Beef tenderloin carpaccio with arugula and lemon. Yet again, simple and delicious.

For my entrée I ordered the Tagliatelle ai Funghi. Tagliatelle and mushrooms in a cream sauce, how can you go wrong. It was delightful, although I felt it could use a little something that I can’t put my finger on- maybe just a little salt to bring out the flavors?

Tagliatelle ai Funghi

Tagliatelle ai Funghi

My mother ordered the Risotto ai Funghi. This too was savory, with the flavors being a little more complex than the tagliatelle.

Risotto ai Funghi

Risotto ai Funghi

The stand-out of the meal, I thought, was the Spaghetti del Pescatore. Like the other dishes we tried, the simplicity of the dish made all the flavors stand out. Exquisite and refined with the spicy tomato broth.

Spaghetti del Pescatore

Spaghetti del Pescatore

You know you have found a winner of a restaurant when the simplicity of a dish makes the flavors complex. I can’t wait to go back.

Sotto Sotto on Urbanspoon

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

